New and Obsolete

I teach English in Japan. Recently one of the English textbooks I use had a section on various inventions and a discussion of their impact on our lives.

Much to my chagrin, I realized I could remember more than half of them. I started thinking about all the changes in technology and started feeling really old.

Imagine I actually typed my papers in college on a typewriter and used correct tape or whiteout to fix my mistakes. How archaic. Well at least I didn’t chisel them in stone.

And then there’s music. Yup, I owned actual albums and played them on a turntable. Ask a teenager these days what an 8 track player is and see what blank looks you get.

I can remember when microwaves first came out and we were in awe of them. Or cable tv, you could get like 15 channels, including these 2 new ones called CNN and MTV. And VCRs and the battle between VHS and Betamax. (For you youngins VHS won). 

Then there was my first computer it was an Apple laptop with a monochrome monitor and a trackball. It had a whopping 20MB hard disk and 640kb of ram. Then I bought a15k baud modem to hook it up to the internet. shortly after I got online a new browser came out called Netscape and it was revolutionary! It could actually display graphics!

i remember this rich guy who was a student at the English school where I taught. He came in one day with the most incredible gadget, a cellphone. It was the size of a walkie talkie and was incredibly expensive, but still we were all impressed

so yes when I look back, I start feeling a bit old. All these technologies that surround us and yet I can remember a time without them. Who knows in 20 years kids may be puzzled when you try to explain using a mouse or typing on a keyboard. 

About unredundant

I am an American expat living in Tokyo, Japan. I love interacting with people so feel free to comment or ask questions. Thank you so much for dropping by!

Posted on August 4, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

